top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOllie Leitelmayer

What is chemsex?

Updated: Dec 14, 2020




Hi and welcome to my first blog post! This site will chronicle the journey of me creating my documentary ‘Chemsex: The Party That Can Kill’. I’m very excited to be able to share this with people, I think this topic is one that needs to be discussed. Whenever I tell people that I am creating a documentary on chemsex - one question always gets asked: what’s chemsex?


Chemsex is, in its most simple terms, using drugs during sex. Chemsex is most common among gay and bisexual men, and people could take part in chemsex for a number of reasons, most commonly that the chemicals enhance the sexual experience and make people feel uninhibited.


Although you may not have heard of it, chemsex is probably more common than you think. According to a survey in 2014 by Sigma of over one thousand gay men in London, 30% of responders had taken one of the most commonly used drugs in chemsex: GHB, in the last 5 years.


Although chemsex can be relatively safe and manageable for some, it’s important to highlight the dangers: overdosing on drugs such as GHB can kill.


For help and support on chemsex, please visit the tab at the top of the blog.


57 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page